The Surprise About Amalfi Coast

I visited Amalfi Coast for the second time this past summer. My first time was back in the fall of 2016 when I studied abroad in Italy.

I was home for the Easter weekend holiday and celebrating my belated birthday with my family. It was a nice break from school because I was going through a lot of personal issues. The usual… boys, finals and the post grad scares.

I was talking to my father about the past four years and how they flew by. We reminisced when I was a freshmen and would make my parents visit me EVERY weekend possible because thats how homesick I was.

After a nice weekend with the family, it was back to school. That Monday morning I made my way to the library. Finals were around the block and the stress level was really at its tipping point.

I went though my emails and saw I had a forwarded email from my father about a booking of an air bnb in Amalfi Coast. My favorite destination in Italy. I had fallen in love with the architecture when I first visited.

If you don’t know what Amalfi looks like… well not only do I feel bad for you but I am here to save you.

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi
Amalfi Coast
IMG_2738
Ravello

Well, you can guess what happened next. I called my dad so confused, wondering if what I was reading wasn’t spam or anything. He confirmed that we would be taking a family vacation to Amalfi Coast.

I broke down in the library. Thoughts from all angles poured into my head. “When was this happening? Why is this happening? Do I even deserve this? How could I process this and thank my father for blessing me with another travel experience?”

It isn’t easy being in college and realizing how much your parents have done for you. It was another moment in my life where my father literally reminded me of how he is my real life superhero.

All I wanted to do was get back in my car and drive 2 hours back home to just hug my father. I was on a high.

I guess my point in this post is to really appreciate the people who actually listen to the happiest moments in your life. I am thankful I was able to visit Amalfi again and make it one of my fathers most favorite destinations.

From that moment on, I realized my father isn’t someone who hears one ear out the other. But truly embraces the emotions hidden behind a story, and that my friends, is the beautiful part of having a wise father, a selfless one.. an adventurous one.

We eventually went to Amalfi and had a AMAZING time. We are still trying to shed the pounds we brought back!

If you are planning a trip, here are some pointers. (DEFF WORTH IT)

  1. Eat as much bread with oil. Eat CARBS! Don’t say no to that gelato. You WILL burn it off.
  2. Use the buses to get around (ranges from like 2-5 euro).
  3. Go to the beach at Positano and enjoy the colorful village houses.
  4. Buy handmade sandals.
  5. When the boats leave, the leave ON TIME. So be early.
  6. Take the ferry to Capri. Do the boat trip around the Island. The Blue Grotto is beautiful, but be prepared to pay around 14 euro to see it! Ana Capri has a chairlift and you get an awesome view.
  7. Ravello and Sorrento are small but beautiful as well. Both day trips!
  8. Appreciate the culture, it isn’t like America.
  9. Practice Italian!!
  10. Pack comfortable shoes and snap pics!

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

