Hartford Became Home in the End

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 11.51.39 AM.png
Kevin McLaughlin, from Sharon, Massachusetts, didn’t have much interest coming to the University of Hartford when he first started applying for college.

Kevin was accepted to 7 of the 9 schools he applied to his senior year of high school. “I didn’t have much interest in coming to this school in the beginning, but I was lucky to receive a significant amount of money, which was something I couldn’t reject” Kevin said.

“The Barney School of Business played a role in my decision making as well. I am passionate about being a marketing major and am thankful for the opportunities Barney has offered such as the opportunity to gain real world experience as in mock interviews and internships” Kevin said.

During his time here at Hartford, Kevin has become involved in organizations, such as Greek life. He is apart of the Alpha Sigma Phi fraternity and has held leadership positions within.

“I am thankful for leadership positions because I am always able to gain more about myself and enhance skills to become a team player” Kevin says.

Kevin has been able to increase his GPA each semester little by little and is proud of his progress in his academics. He spends most of his free time in the library and researching future career paths.

Besides academics, Kevin is passionate about his hobbies as well. He is fitness and a healthy lifestyle. Kevin goes to the gym 6 out of the 7 days of the week. His favorite day is “arm day”. He is so dedicated, that he even gave up his favorite snacks, cookies, for lent!

Kevin also loves to go hiking. “I love to go hiking because I believe being on top of a mountain is the only peaceful place on earth to me” says Kevin. He enjoys the view and the challenge of reaching the top.

The reason Kevin enjoys working out and hiking is because he needs to burn off the three breakfast sandwiches he eats when he starts his day! “A growing boy needs his meals and his workouts” says Kevin.

At the end of the day, Kevin believes friendship and positive outlooks are important. He says, “I am grateful for Hartford because of all the relationships I have built. Without my friends, I don’t know what my college experience would be like”.

As a senior, Kevin reflects back at his time in Hartford and has seen himself grow in all areas as a student, friend, and for himself. “I have new goals set for myself each year and with the help of my outlets, I am able to achieve them” says Kevin.

For example, when applying for internships, Kevin was able to speak to alumni and his professors to recommended places and was able to even be recommended by alumni that work there currently.

“The tight knit community at Hartford is something I wouldn’t be able to find a big school. Every relationship I have made along the way are special and important in their own ways and that’s the best satisfaction when I recognize someone walking past me” says Kevin.

He wants to be a salesman when he graduates college and is looking forward to taking his degree into the work field. Kevin is currently a senior at the University of Hartford and plans on graduating this May, 2017 at the age of 22.

 

Leave a Reply

